Lyle Lovett

Lyle Lovett Tour

Lyle Pearce Lovett (November 1, 1957) is an American country music artist and actor. He has released thirteen albums since 1980 and has twenty-five singles to his credit, including his most successful entry on the Billboard Hot Country Songs chart, which peaked at number 10 with “Cowboy Man.” Lovett has won four Grammy Awards.

Early Life

Lovett was born in Harris County, Texas, the son of Bernell Louise (née Klein) and William Pearce. He grew up in Klein, a suburb of Houston. His parents were both Lutheran. Lovett is of English and German descent. Lovett attended Texas A&M University, where he played football and studied German.

Personal Life

Lovett has been married three times. His first marriage was to Julia Roberts from 1993 to 1995. Lovett then engaged April Kimble in 2003; the couple married in 2017. The year they had their twins, a boy, and a girl arrived.


Lyle Lovett’s career in music began in earnest when he moved to Los Angeles after college to pursue a career as a songwriter. Lovett’s debut album, Lyle Lovett was released in 1986 to critical acclaim. The album’s blend of country, folk, and swing music made Lovett a unique voice in the country music landscape, and his talent for writing catchy, clever songs endeared him to both critics and fans alike.

Lovett’s sophomore album, Pontiac, was released in the fall of 1987 and cemented his reputation as a master songwriter. The album’s lead single, “She’s No Lady,” was a Top 10 hit on the country charts, and the follow-up single, “Give Back My Heart,” was also a success. Pontiac received rave reviews from critics and solidified Lovett’s place in the country music world.

Lovett’s third album, Lyle Lovett and His Large Band was released in 1989. The album produced by Tony Brown featured a more country sound than his previous albums and was critically acclaimed. It included the singles “Here I Am” and “The Blues Walk (Instrumental)”. The album won Lovett the Grammy Award for Best Male Country Vocal Performance.

Lovett’s fourth album, Joshua Judges Ruth was released in 1992. The album is a return to Lovett’s more traditional country and western roots. The album Joshua Judges Ruth was nominated for a Grammy award in the category of Best Male Pop Vocal Performance.

Lovett’s fifth album, I Love Everybody, was released in 1994. The album is a departure from his earlier work, with a more pop and rock-influenced sound. The album was a commercial success, reaching number 26 on the Billboard 200 chart and selling over two million copies.

On June 18, 1996, Lovett released his sixth album, The Road to Ensenada. This album was a turning point in his career, as it did not focus on the country-western sound that he had become known for. Instead, The Road to Ensenada was a collection of jazz and blues songs that showed off Lovett’s versatility as a musician. The album was widely acclaimed, and Lovett was nominated Grammy Award for Best Male Country Vocal Performance for the song “That’s Right (You’re Not From Texas)”.

On September 22, 1998, Lovett released his seventh album, Step Inside This House. The album is a tribute to the songwriters of Texas and includes covers of songs by Townes Van Zandt, Guy Clark, Willis Alan Ramsey, and others. The album was nominated for the Grammy Award for Best Contemporary Folk Album.

On September 30, 2003, Lovett released his eighth album, My Baby Don’t Tolerate, which featured some of his most personal and introspective songs to date. The album was also a critical success, earning him several Grammy nominations.

On August 28, 2007, Lovett released his ninth studio album, It’s Not Big It’s Large. The album was another critical success and debuted at number two on the Billboard Country charts and at number seventeen on the Billboard 200. In the first week of sales, It’s Not Big It’s Large sold approximately 25,000 copies.

Lovett’s tenth studio album, Natural Forces, was released on October 20, 2009. The album debuted at number eight on the Billboard Country charts and at number twenty-one on the Billboard 200.

On February 28, 2012, Lovett released his eleventh studio album, Release Me. The album debuted at number nine on the Billboard Country charts and at number sixty on the Billboard 200.

Awards and Nominations

He was inducted into the Texas Cowboy Hall of Fame (2019).

Lovett has won four Grammy Awards, including Best Male Country Vocal Performance for “Lyle Lovett and His Large Band” (1990), Best Pop Collaboration for “Funny How Time Slips Away” (1995), and Best Country Performance by a Duo or Group with Vocal for “Blues for Dixie” (1995). He also won a Best Country Album for “The Road to Ensenada” (1997).


  • Lyle Lovett (1986)
  • Pontiac (1987)
  • Lyle Lovett and His Large Band (1989)
  • Joshua Judges Ruth (1992)
  • I Love Everybody (1994)
  • The Road to Ensenada (1996)
  • Step Inside This House (1998)
  • My Baby Don’t Tolerate (2003)
  • It’s Not Big It’s Large (2007)
  • Natural Forces (2009)
  • Release Me (2012)
  • 12th of June (2022)