The Bellamy Brothers

The Bellamy Brothers are a country music duo who have been performing together since the 1970s. They are best known for their hits “Let Your Love Flow” and “Brothers of the Southland.” The brothers, David, and Homer Bellamy, come from a musical family and began their career playing in local bars and clubs. Over the years, they have released numerous albums and won several awards, including two Grammy Awards.

The Bellamy Brothers’ History

The Bellamy Brothers are an American pop and country music duo consisting of brothers David Milton Bellamy (born September 16, 1950) and Homer Howard Bellamy (born February 21, 1946), from Darby, Florida. The duo had considerable musical success in the 1970s and 1980s, starting with their crossover hit “Let Your Love Flow” in 1976, a Number One single on both the Billboard Hot 100 and Country charts. In the early 1960s, the brothers began performing at local clubs and schools.

In 1965, the brothers moved to Nashville to pursue their musical careers. They met Chet Atkins, who helped them get a record deal with Capitol Records. Their first album was released in 1967 and featured the single “I Ain’t Never”, which peaked at number eight on the Country charts. The duo continued to release albums throughout the 1970s and 1980s. Some of their other hits include “If I Said You Had a Beautiful Body (Would You Hold It Against Me)”, “Redneck Girl”, and “Old Hippie”.

The Bellamy Brothers have won numerous awards throughout their career, including the Academy of Country Music’s Top Vocal Duo four times and the Country Music Association’s Vocal Duo of the Year three times. They were inducted into the Georgia Music Hall of Fame in 2002 and the Florida Artists Hall of Fame in 2004. In 2009, they received a star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame. The Bellamy Brothers continue to tour and release music today. Their most recent album, Icon, was released in 2014.


The Bellamy Brothers have released a total of 31 studio albums, 50 singles, and 16 compilation albums. Their discography includes:

Studio albums:

  • Let Your Love Flow (1976)
  • Plain & Fancy (1977)
  • The Two and Only (1978)
  • Lovers Live Longer (1979)
  • Sons of the Son (1980)
  • Crazy from the Heart (1981)
  • I Wanna Be There (1982) * You Can’t Go Home Again(1983)* Restless(1984)* Howard & David Bellamy(1985)* Strong Weakness(1986)* Kids of the Baby Boom(1987)* Rollin’ Thunder(1988)* Best of the Bellamy Brothers Vol. II(1989)Reggae Cowboy(1990)* Jesus Is Coming Soon(1991)* Over the Line(1992)
  • The Bluest Eyes in Texas (1993)
  • For All the Wrong Reasons (1994)
  • Greatest Hits and Moreā€¦ (1995)
  • When I’m Away from You (1996)
  • Christmastime in Dixie / Ho! Ho! Merry Christmas! (1997) * The Best of the Bellamy Brothers: Their Greatest Hits, Volume III (1998)* Some Hearts Need Fixing/The Definitive Collection (1999)* The Definitive Collection, Volume Two (2000)* The Very Best of the Bellamy Brothers: Lovers Live Longer (2001)* Angels & Outlaws, Vol. I (2002)* Country Music’s Greatest Love Songs (2003)
  • Jesus Is Coming Soon is a gospel album. It was released in 1991 via Curb Records. The album peaked at No. 35 on the Billboard Top Country Albums chart. “I Wanna Be There” was released as a single and peaked at No. 60 on the Billboard Hot Country Singles chart in 1992.

Awards & Nominations

The Bellamy Brothers have received numerous awards throughout their career. In 1979, they won the Country Music Association’s Vocal Duo of the Year award. They were also awarded the Academy of Country Music’s Top Vocal Duo six times between 1976 and 1986. In addition, they have been nominated for Grammy Awards, American Music Awards, and Dove Awards.

The Bellamy Brothers have continued to tour and release albums throughout the 2000s and 2010s. In 2019, they released an album titled Over The Line. This album featured collaborations with country artists such as Dierks Bentley, Brad Paisley, Florida Georgia Line, and Blake Shelton.